News & Events

St Mary’s Spell Bee Award Ceremony 2022-23

St Mary’s Spell Bee award ceremony was held at St Mary’s Auditorium . The Chief Guest of the program Prof. Mathew C Nainan, the Director of LRIS Brahmavar; V.Rev. Fr Charles Menezes, the Correspondent of the school, Mr Maxim D’Souza and Dr Colonel Arthur Rodrigues respectively the Vice President and the Secretary of Parish Pastoral Council, Mother of Sorrows Church, Udupi were escorted by Principal Rev.Fr Johnson Sequeira and Vice Principal Ms Rita Quadros to the Auditorium with the honor of the school band. The formal program commenced with a prayer song by students’ choir. Later the dignitaries were traditionally welcomed through a classical dance. Principal presented the formal note of welcome with introductory remarks. Mohammad Shawaz of Grade 8 and Vinola of Grade 12 shared their experiences. The First and Second prize winners from each Grade were honored with trophies and also rewarded with a cash prize of Rs 5,000 and 3,000 respectively as token of appreciation. The winners also received the esteemed title ‘the Spell bees of St Mary’s .Ms Gowri Anand Karnad,the parent of Arunitha Karnad, the prize winner shared her thoughts on how the Spell Bee competition helped children.Prof Mathew C Nainan was felicitated with shawl, citation and memento. Prof Nainan in his speech stressed that the effective communication skills are supremely important to interface the challenges of the present global world. Correspondent in his Presidential address congratulated the winners and highlighted the need of good fluency over multiple languages to strengthen the bond of relationship with society. Ms Benedicta Fernandes, Ms Janet D’Souza and Mr Irwin Alva, the members of the School Management Committee were present on the occasion. The parents of Prize winners also attended the program. Vice Principal extended the words of gratitude. Mr Vinay Suvarna anchored the program.